Gameboy Development Forum

Discussion about software development for the old-school Gameboys, ranging from the "Gray brick" to Gameboy Color
(Launched in 2008)

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-09-20 08:13:18

Termingamer2-JD
Website

GB/SGB/GBC Emulator Making

Hi,

I want to make an emulator which can emulate the Game Boy line (besides Advance).

I have no prior coding knowledge and I discussed this at the emulator-zone forums, where C++ was a good programming language to learn.

Discuss below.
(I already know where I'm trying to head with this project: an emulator which is highly accurate, fast and will be mostly aimed at the general gamer. C++ is apparantly used for a lot of emulators, too.)

Obviously I'm going to spend some time reading up on GB* documentation and ASM/etc, and I also have many roms to test it with (an entire set, including a bunch of HB games as well).

I'm not sure this is the right forum for me, though - but this is about GB stuff isn't it?

#2 2015-09-20 13:24:24

l0k1

Re: GB/SGB/GBC Emulator Making

Hey bud!
Before worrying about creating an emulator, you should probably learn how to write code. Which will mean spending some time learning to write things that probably aren't an emulator.
I don't know of any good C++ tutorials (I'm partial to C myself, but haven't written any C in over a year), but you should find a good tutorial, and stick to it beginning to end.
Also, are you doing this on Windows, Mac or Linux? That'd be good information to have - the development environment is different for all 3.
After you have some coding knowledge under your belt, you can scour Github and look at how other people have implemented emulators.
Good luck! It's a long road ahead. =]

#3 2015-09-21 15:46:51

a cat

you should definitely try to learn a programming language first
i have been programming for about 3 years(not professionally) and still cant write a emulator!

but programming and emulator making are very good skills to have!