Gameboy Development Forum

Discussion about software development for the old-school Gameboys, ranging from the "Gray brick" to Gameboy Color
(Launched in 2008)

You are not logged in.

Ads

#1 2019-09-01 18:44:23

h0tp3ngu1n

How to avoid flicker?

Hello. I'm new to ASM, and I'm trying to make a Pokédex like the one in Red/Blue (not looking at the disassembly though, since it's kind of intimidating for me at my current level). But I'm having this problem with the screen flickering as I scroll up and down the list:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1LxxoO8 … sp=sharing

I believe that the problem is probably that I have too much code between turning off the screen and turning it back on. Here's what I have:

Code:

; [. . .]

; now we need to move the cursor. so we first need to turn off the screen...
    call turn_off_LCD

; is the cursor already in slot 7 (i.e. at y=136)?
    ld a,[_cursor1_y]
    cp 136
    jp nz,.continue

; if so, increase the top of the list by 1
    ld a,[_top]
    inc a
    ld [_top],a
    call RefreshScreen        ; redraw the list
    jr .turn_on_screen

.continue
    ; if not, move the cursor downwards a slot (i.e. down 16 pixels)
    add a,16
    ld [_cursor1_y],a
    ld [_SPR0_Y],a

.turn_on_screen
    ; turn the screen back on:
    ld a,[rLCDC]
    set 7,a
    ld [rLCDC],a

; and disable the input
    ld a,1
    ld [_input_disabled],a

.end
    ret

RefreshScreen:

; pseudocode:
;     for(i=0;i<7;i+=1){
;         hl = LoafNames+(10*(top+i))
;         de = _SCRN0+(64*i)+100
;         bc = 10
;         call DrawText
;
;         hl = Numbers+(3*(top+i))
;         de = _SCRN0+(64*i)+65
;         bc = 3
;         call DrawNumber
;     }

ld a,0            ; a = 0
.loop
    ld [_i],a        ; [_i] = a

ld a,[_top]        ; hl = [_top]
    ld h,0            ; ''
    ld l,a            ; ''
    ld b,0            ; bc = [_i]
    ld a,[_i]        ; ''
    ld c,a            ; ''
    add hl,bc        ; hl is now equal to ([_top]+[_i])