Gameboy Development Forum

Discussion about software development for the old-school Gameboys, ranging from the "Gray brick" to Gameboy Color
(Launched in 2008)

You are not logged in.

Ads

#1 2021-05-03 14:22:39

robinfaury

How to create a GameBoy Color (gbc) cartridge from scratch in 2021

Hi everyone!

First, I'm really happy to discover this forum. I wasn't expect to find an active forum about this kind of old stuff.

I developed a little gbc game for a game jam and it was super fun and I love the way that developer need to know their stuff before codding (memory space, addressing, etc...). And I discover the switch bank feature and I use it. Of course, I'm thinking now on a physical cartridge of this game.

You need to know that I have no knowledge in electronics (I did once VHDL).
But I red a lot (including this thread: https://gbdev.gg8.se/forums/viewtopic.php?id=618) before starting this thread and this is my state of the art (please correct me if I'm wrong).

In 2021, if I want to create a full featured cartridge (8M ROM, 128K RAM, battery), I need:
- a memory chip for the ROM (EEPROM? FRAM?). I'm not sure to catch the difference.
- a RAM chip
- a battery
- a MBC5
- a PCB for a gameboy format (I can start with this one I guess: https://shop.insidegadgets.com/product/ … ebug-cart/)

So I'm looking for thus answers:
- Is there a DIY article about building this kind of cart?
- Do I need specific knowledge? Or can I just buy some chip and put them together?
- Is there a nice book to start electronic (something like electronic for dummies but more dedicated to chip interfacing)
- Is MBC5 chip available? (it sound there is no production today)
- Why gameboy flash carts are so expensive while chip are not?
- Do you have good reference for all chips listed?
- How can I have a custom PCB?
- Is there a software to design PCB?
- Is there a good reference for a soldering iron that suite this purpose? (I told you, I'm a software developer ^^)