Gameboy Development Forum

Discussion about software development for the old-school Gameboys, ranging from the "Gray brick" to Gameboy Color
(Launched in 2008)

You are not logged in.

Ads

#1 2008-03-19 20:41:10

Awol
Member
Registered: 2008-02-25
Posts: 23
Website

Over/Under Clocking

Is there a way to have a single DMG that can be switched between normal mode, overclocked, and underclocked? I've seen it done with a GBA.


Formerly Grey_and_Purple.

Offline

 

#2 2008-03-20 11:34:09

nitro2k01
Administrator
Registered: 2008-02-22
Posts: 245

Re: Over/Under Clocking

Not impossible. Gijs did this by simply putting a switch between the clocks. Doing it this way increases the risk of a crash though. A more reasonable way is to use a clock divider. I'll experiment a bit with it and see if I can get it working.


Blog: Gameboy Genius
"A journey of a thousand miles begins with one small step"
Old Chinese Proverb

Offline

 

#3 2008-03-20 15:12:09

Awol
Member
Registered: 2008-02-25
Posts: 23
Website

Re: Over/Under Clocking

Ah awesome! Let me know how it goes.

EDIT: Also, the GBA version I saw didn't have an external switch for the clocks... you just had to press a certain combination of buttons to switch. That would be pretty cool to do with a DMG, like just pressing start+select+a+b so you don't have to install a switch.

EDIT2: P.S. What exactly is a clock divider? Google didn't turn up anything useful...

Last edited by Awol (2008-03-21 11:47:12)


Formerly Grey_and_Purple.

Offline

 

#4 2008-08-20 03:18:57

der Warst
New member
Registered: 2008-08-20
Posts: 1

Re: Over/Under Clocking

Yep, It even is possible to under/overclock it coninuously with the use of a LTC1799 IC:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BE1mYNpvyH0

There has been several requests for a tutorial on this mod, so I guess I'll write one eventually...

Offline

 

Board footer

Powered by PunBB
© Copyright 2002–2005 Rickard Andersson